6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Berkshire & Buckinghamshire Life today click here

Review: Shaolin Warriors, Aylesbury

PUBLISHED: 11:29 04 May 2011 | UPDATED: 19:18 20 February 2013

Review: Shaolin Warriors, Aylesbury

Review: Shaolin Warriors, Aylesbury

Reviewer Debbie Cheshire enjoys the Shaolin Warriors at the Waterside Theatre in Aylesbury

Review: Shaolin Warriors, Waterside Theatre, Aylesbury


May 2, 2011


Review by Debbie Cheshire



From the moment we entered the theatre the highly decorated back drop and peaceful oriental music created an air of mystic. As the screen went up the authentic looking temple entrance took us back in time and began the story of a young boy looking to realise his dream of becoming a Shaolin Warrior.


And so the action begins. A display of colour and sound fills the stage with the high energy of the warriors as they display their martial arts prowess and acrobatic skills. There were two young boys, the pupils, who showed remarkable agility and control for ones so young, this included vertical splits.


The show goes on to include audience participation, firstly with a group of children being taught some Kung Fu moves and then with two adults mimicking the fighting of the warriors. The laughter that this generates from the audience is in stark contrast to the sharp intakes of breath induced by some of the awe inspiring stunts.


Stunts include a sandwich of a bed of swords, a warrior, a bed of nails, a warrior and then a three-inch thick slab. The appearance of a warrior with a sledge hammer caused the audience to laugh nervously before being silenced by the disbelief of the hammer pounded down, breaking the slab.


Other impressive displays include a warrior being held aloft by spears and a warrior chopping a lettuce with cleaver on his stomach.


If you are looking for a show that is fast moving, colourful, loud and energetic with a hint of spiritualism then this might just be for you.

0 comments

More from Out & About

Tue, 10:35

The county of Buckinghamshire is an amazing place for a Sunday stroll. From the Chilterns to the waterways, we round up our favourites

Read more
Tue, 10:33

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Berkshire this month

Read more
Tue, 10:32

With the North Wessex Downs, Windsor’s Long Walk and a whole host of beautiful towns and villages, Berkshire is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Sunday, September 10, 2017

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Buckinghamshire this month

Read more
Thursday, September 7, 2017

Follow Steve Davison as he heads towards Winslow for a North Buckinghamshire walk through the neighbouring villages of Swanbourne and Mursley

Read more
Thursday, September 7, 2017

The countdown has begun to one of Berkshire’s biggest events as town meets country for a great day out

Read more
Thursday, August 31, 2017

We set ourselves a challenge to name 26 great things about Buckinghamshire on a trip to the countryside, along the rivers and straight from A to Z…

Read more
Thursday, August 31, 2017

We visit Buckmoorend in the Chilterns – please support your local farm shop and enjoy delicious and fresh produce reared or grown on your doorstep

Read more
Thursday, August 31, 2017

A look back at some of the best Berkshire photography shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Friday, August 25, 2017

Steve Davison leads the way on an easy wander alongside the picturesque River Thames, passing through Remenham and Aston

Read more
Friday, August 25, 2017

The sights of Englefield and The Really Wild Clay Company draw Selena Barr to an A-list style day out

Read more
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Some are now becoming endangered species in their native habitats, others flourish in our counties, while one is a rare visitors

Read more
Monday, August 21, 2017

This pretty and historic West Berkshire village has a lot to celebrate – both its past and future, Claire Pitcher discovers

Read more
Monday, August 21, 2017

Arrowing on a sport which attracts people of all ages and abilities, Sandra Smith meets the toxophilites of Newport Pagnell

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Berkshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search